Date: Tue, 20 May 2003 15:30:11 -0400
Reply-To: "Ralph Stuart, University of Vermont" <rstuart**At_Symbol_Here**>
Sender: DCHAS-L Discussion List <DCHAS-L**At_Symbol_Here**LIST.UVM.EDU>
From: "Ralph Stuart, University of Vermont" <rstuart**At_Symbol_Here**>
Subject: Upcoming ACS Vote

Greetings CHAS Members.

We hope that most of you have heard about the proposed change to the
ACS constitution which focuses on providing more direct support from
the ACS to local sections and divisions.  There was a recent C&E News
article that described this ("Your Time To Vote" by Ruth Hathaway and
Yorke Rhodes, C&EN, April 28, 2003, p. 46).   You will be receiving a
ballot to vote on the petition to make this change.  I encourage you
to read more about it but I have provided some highlights below.

- 20% of ACS membership dues will be alloted to local sections and divisions.

- The split of these funds is based on current membership.  Local
sections will receive 55% and divisions will receive 45%.

- This is a modest increase for local sections and a very significant
increase for divisions, including CHAS.

- To pay for this change, a temporary dues increase will be used to
provide the funds.  This gradual increase will be $9 per member.  [$1
initially, $2 more 2004, $2 more in 2005, $2 more in 2006, $2 more in
2007]  This temporary increase will allow the ACS governing board to
find other funding mechanisms for the increase, which will be
cancelled if ACS receipts improve.

Your CHAS Exective Board endorses this change and urges its members
to support this change.  The substantial increase in funding to our
division will help us manage our expenses better, and will provide
for improved programming at National and Regional meetings.   Please
consider this important issue and cast your vote.

Executive Board, Division of Chemical Health and Safety

  Robert H. Hill, Jr., Chair & Audit Committee
  Neal Langerman, Chair-Elect
  John Palmer, Immediate Past-Chair & Social Committee
  Russ Phifer, Secretary & Training and Workshops Committee
  Erik Talley, Treasurer
  Eileen Segal, Councilor & Publications Committee
  Mary Ann Solstad, Councilor & Nominations Committee
  George Wahl, Councilor
  Ruth Hathaway, Alternate Councilor
  Sung Moon, Alternate Councilor & Training and Workshops
  Warren Kingsley, Alternate Councilor & Awards Committee
  Ken Fivizzani, Member-at-large
  Barbara Foster, Member-at-large & Regulatory and Public Affairs Committee
  Harry Elston, Editor, CH&S
  Doug Walters, Awards Committee
  Larry Doemeny, Long-Range Plans Committee
  Ralph Stuart, Membership Committee & Web-Page Administrator
  Kathy Benedict, Program Committee
  Jim Kapin, Program Committee
  Frankie Wood-Black, Nominations Committee

Previous post   |  Top of Page   |   Next post

The content of this page reflects the personal opinion(s) of the author(s) only, not the American Chemical Society, ILPI, Safety Emporium, or any other party. Use of any information on this page is at the reader's own risk. Unauthorized reproduction of these materials is prohibited. Send questions/comments about the archive to
The maintenance and hosting of the DCHAS-L archive is provided through the generous support of Safety Emporium.