From: "Wawzyniecki Jr, Stefan" <stefan.w**At_Symbol_Here**UCONN.EDU>
Subject: Re: [DCHAS-L] Announcement of 2016 CHAS Awards
Date: Thu, 10 Mar 2016 13:31:56 +0000
Reply-To: DCHAS-L <DCHAS-L**At_Symbol_Here**MED.CORNELL.EDU>
Message-ID: BY2PR0501MB1752950596344CE9EA53F2F88BB40**At_Symbol_Here**
In-Reply-To <8636CC74-0CA4-424C-9D0C-B7B6650D62AE**At_Symbol_Here**>

Excellent choices!


All worthy of recognition-  congratulations-




Stefan Wawzyniecki, CIH, CHMM   NRCC-CHO

University of Connecticut


From: DCHAS-L Discussion List [mailto:dchas-l**At_Symbol_Here**] On Behalf Of Doug Walters
Sent: Tuesday, March 08, 2016 9:55 PM
Subject: [DCHAS-L] Announcement of 2016 CHAS Awards


The ACS Division of Chemical Health and Safety is pleased to announce the 2016 winners of  the following awards. 



The SafetyStratus CHAS Collegiate Award is presented to recognize a comprehensive laboratory and chemical safety program at an institution of higher learning (undergraduate aspects only).


            The Office of Environmental Health and Safety, and 

            The Department of Chemistry 

            Duke University

            Durham NC




The Howard Fawcett Award for outstanding contributions to the science, technology, education and communication in the field of chemical health and safety.


            Lee Latimer, Ph.D.

            NeurOp, Inc. and LHLConsulting

            Oakland CA


Lee is a strong supporter of CHAS and a proponent of chemical safety.  His career in the pharmaceutical industry has emphasized safety in analysis, separations, scale-up and lab operations.  Within ACS he has acted as a strong voice on the ACS Board of Directors for making safety a core value of the Society.  Lee is a CHAS member as well as an ACS Board member.  This award will send a message that safety matters at all levels of one’s career as a chemist.



The Tillmanns-Skolnick Award for outstanding, long-tern service to the Division.


            Samuella (Sammye) B. Sigmann, NRCC-CHO

            Department of Chemistry

            Appalachian State University

            Boone NC


Specifically, the award recognizes Sammye's long-term work on the CHAS Administrative Manual and her other efforts on behalf of the Division



The awards will be presented at the annual CHAS Awards symposium at the fall ACS meeting in Philadelphia, August 21-25, 2016 


Congratulations for the winners for their outstanding achievements and contributions .



Douglas B. Walters, PhD, FACS
CHAS 2016 Awards Chair


Previous post   |  Top of Page   |   Next post

The content of this page reflects the personal opinion(s) of the author(s) only, not the American Chemical Society, ILPI, Safety Emporium, or any other party. Use of any information on this page is at the reader's own risk. Unauthorized reproduction of these materials is prohibited. Send questions/comments about the archive to
The maintenance and hosting of the DCHAS-L archive is provided through the generous support of Safety Emporium.