From: "Secretary, ACS Division of Chemical Health and Safety" <secretary**At_Symbol_Here**DCHAS.ORG>
Subject: [DCHAS-L] EPA Publishes List of Five Mercury Compounds Prohibited from Export
Date: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 12:53:10 -0400
Reply-To: DCHAS-L <DCHAS-L**At_Symbol_Here**MED.CORNELL.EDU>
Message-ID: 89FDDF6F-D6E3-412D-9BE2-0E985DFB4536**At_Symbol_Here**

As directed by the recent amendments to the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), EPA has released a list of five mercury compounds that cannot be exported as of January 1, 2020. This action will prevent the ability to convert these compounds to elemental mercury after export from the United States. The list of prohibited mercury compounds includes: mercury (I) chloride or calomel; mercury (II) oxide; mercury (II) sulfate; mercury (II) nitrate; and cinnabar or mercury sulphide. These particular mercury compounds were identified by Congress in the recent amendments to TSCA, and EPA was directed to publish a notice in the Federal Register by September 19, 2016. These compounds are generally manufactured or imported in small quantities, used in laboratory chemistry and electrochemistry, or occur in industrial waste or byproducts.

For additional information, please visit .

David Giamporcaro
Industry and Small Business Liaison
Environmental Assistance Division
Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
1200 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. (7408M)
Washington, D.C. 20460
Email: giamporcaro.david**At_Symbol_Here**

Previous post   |  Top of Page   |   Next post

The content of this page reflects the personal opinion(s) of the author(s) only, not the American Chemical Society, ILPI, Safety Emporium, or any other party. Use of any information on this page is at the reader's own risk. Unauthorized reproduction of these materials is prohibited. Send questions/comments about the archive to
The maintenance and hosting of the DCHAS-L archive is provided through the generous support of Safety Emporium.