From: "Robert H. Hill, Jr." <roberth_hill**At_Symbol_Here**>
Subject: Re: [DCHAS-L] Congratulations 2019 CHAS Award Winners!
Date: Wed, 27 Feb 2019 13:40:24 -0500
Reply-To: "Robert H. Hill, Jr." <roberth_hill**At_Symbol_Here**>
Message-ID: 1776134177.5022.1551292825158**At_Symbol_Here**

Congratulations to Sammye, Harry, Ken, and Doug!  What a great group of winners!!!  Thanks for all that you have done for CHAS and our nation's health and safety.  Bob

-----Original Message-----
From: kimibush
Sent: Feb 27, 2019 10:55 AM
Subject: [DCHAS-L] Congratulations 2019 CHAS Award Winners!

On behalf of the Awards Committee, it gives me great pleasure to announce to the Division Membership the winners of the 2019 ACS Division of Chemical Health and Safety (CHAS) Awards.


Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations and suggestions, and to the Awards Selection Subcommittee members for evaluating the nominees and providing me with advice and support!


Please join me in congratulating the following recipients, who have already been notified individually and will be recognized at the CHAS awards symposium in San Diego..  I will also be sending an announcement through the DCHAS-L listserv..


Howard Fawcett Award: 

Outstanding contribution to the science, technology, education and communication of chemical health and safety

  • Samuella Sigmann


Tillmanns-Skolnik Award:

Outstanding, long-term service to the Division of Chemical Health and Safety

  • Harry Elston


Lifetime Achievement Award:

A lifetime of dedication and service to the American Chemical Society, the ACS Division of Chemical Health and Safety, and the field of chemical health and safety

  • Ken Fivizzani
  • Doug Walters


SafetyStratus College and University Health and Safety Award:

The most comprehensive laboratory safety program in higher education (undergraduate study only)

  • University of Pittsburgh, Department of Chemistry and Department of EH&S


CHAS Fellows:

CHAS members in good standing who have provided continuous service with 15+ years of CHAS membership or 7+ years of membership with at least 3 years of active participation

  • Kuespert Daniel R
  • David Finster
  • James Kaufmann
  • Chris Incarvito
  • Marta Gmurczyk


More information about each of these awards can be found at



Kimi Brown, NCRR-CHO, CSP

CHAS Awards Committee Chair 2019


-and also-


Sr. Lab Safety Specialist

University of Pennsylvania


--- For more information about the DCHAS-L e-mail list, contact the Divisional membership chair at membership**At_Symbol_Here** Follow us on Twitter **At_Symbol_Here**acsdchas

Robert H. Hill, Jr., Ph..D.

Stone Mountain, GA 30087



"The Safety Ethic: I value safety, teach safety, work safely, prevent at-risk behavior, promote safety, and accept responsibility for safety." 

Previous post   |  Top of Page   |   Next post

The content of this page reflects the personal opinion(s) of the author(s) only, not the American Chemical Society, ILPI, Safety Emporium, or any other party. Use of any information on this page is at the reader's own risk. Unauthorized reproduction of these materials is prohibited. Send questions/comments about the archive to
The maintenance and hosting of the DCHAS-L archive is provided through the generous support of Safety Emporium.