From: CHAS membership <membership**At_Symbol_Here**DCHAS.ORG>
Subject: [DCHAS-L] Today's CHAS national meeting technical program
Date: Thu, 8 Apr 2021 06:36:59 -0400
Reply-To: ACS Division of Chemical Health and Safety <DCHAS-L**At_Symbol_Here**Princeton.EDU>
Message-ID: F47AA09F-EBC0-4052-8BD7-CB8D1D0D810F**At_Symbol_Here**dchas.org


Here are the CHAS papers that will be presented today as part of the ACS National Meeting. ACS members can still register for the meeting for $99 at https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/meetings/acs-meetings/registration/pricing.html

Let me know if you have any questions about this.

- Ralph


Chemical Health and Safety
9:00 ?? 11:55 a.m. PDT 11:00 a.m. ?? 1:55 p.m. CDT Noon ?? 2:55 EDT

Systems Thinking in Chemical Health and Safety
9:00 ?? 9:05 a.m. Introductory Remarks

9:05 ?? 9:30 a.m. Do your experiments fail safely? Craig Merlic
9:30 ?? 9:55 a.m. Planning for Failure, Daniel Kuespert
9:55 ?? 10:20 a.m. Identifying leverage points in the chemical safety system, Ralph Stuart

10:20 ?? 10:45 a.m. Systems Thinking and Safer Chemistry by Design, David Constable
10:45 ?? 11:10 a.m. Use of geographic information in pursuit of systematic hazard recognition and control, Kimberly Jeskie
11:10 ?? 11:35 a.m. Ammonium nitrate explosions: Lessons learned, Qiongqiong Zhou

11:35 ?? 11:50 a.m. Discussion
===
Noon ?? 1:00 p.m.
Networking room
===
Chemical Health and Safety 2020 Awards
1:00 ?? 3:10 p.m. PDT 3:00 ?? 5:10 p.m. CDT 4:00 ?? 6:10 p.m. EDT

1:00 ?? 1:30 p.m. Awards Presentation, Kimi Brown
1:30 ?? 1:55 p.m. Making safety second nature at the University of Minnesota, Mahesh Mahanthappa
1:55 ?? 2:20 p.m. Focusing on safety: Building upon the history of a century old lab, John Dolhun

2:20 ?? 2:45 p.m. Bruce Lee and Safety Leadership, Robin Izzo
2:45 ?? 3:10 p.m. Understanding the importance of community and resources within the research safety environment, as a beginning organization, Leon Omar
===
Safety Across the Scientific Disciplines: Where are the Successes, and What Needs Improvements
5:00 ?? 7:35 p.m. PDT 7:00 ?? 9:35 p.m. CDT 8:00 ?? 10:35 p.m. EDT

5:00 ?? 5:05 p.m.
Introductory Remarks

5:05 ?? 5:30 p.m. It is all interdisciplinary now. Safety across boundaries, Frankie Wood-Black
5:30 ?? 5:55 p.m. Enhancing safety through emphasis of biological and toxicological concepts, Caroline Multari
5:55 ?? 6:20 p.m. Connecting biosafety and chemical safety training in the laboratory, Ralph Stuart

6:20 ?? 6:45 p.m. Student-generated videos: A model for developing written standard operating procedures in academic labs, Melinda Box
6:45 ?? 7:10 p.m. Enlisting the community in pursuit of laboratory safety: An update on the chemical safety library, Carmen Nitsche
7:015 ?? 9:00 p.m., Networking room

---
For more information about the DCHAS-L e-mail list, contact the Divisional membership chair at membership**At_Symbol_Here**dchas.org
Follow us on Twitter **At_Symbol_Here**acsdchas

Previous post   |  Top of Page   |   Next post



The content of this page reflects the personal opinion(s) of the author(s) only, not the American Chemical Society, ILPI, Safety Emporium, or any other party. Use of any information on this page is at the reader's own risk. Unauthorized reproduction of these materials is prohibited. Send questions/comments about the archive to secretary@dchas.org.
The maintenance and hosting of the DCHAS-L archive is provided through the generous support of Safety Emporium.